SimsAcademy.info
Exploring simulation with the expectation of improved patient care. 


Acute care patient in SIMS Medical Center

HOME

Workshops

Model Tour

Resources

BHE
Proposal

BHE
Report

 

Purpose 

Typical Acute Care Unit stage for patient simulationSIMS Medical Academy?/font> is a state-wide collaboration consisting of all 15 community colleges within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.  In a coordinated effort, each of the community colleges are developing a process to integrate patient simulation into first the nursing curriculum, followed by other areas of health. The goal is to create for each college at least one patient unit.  Each unit will consist of four patients with the supportive equipment and environment as is found in the hospital setting.  Academy members explore computer based simulation, and where appropriate, integrate simulation into the curriculum  with the expectation of improved patient care. 


Member Institutions

Each regional  institution is responsible for assisting other region members in developing, implementing and sustaining patient simulation.  Contacts are listed for most insitutions.  Anyone interested in or currently using patient simulation is invited to join.

Lead Institutions are in Italics

Region I - Western Mass.
Contact Mike Foss

Springfield Technical Community College
Mike Foss  mfoss@stcc.edu  413.755.4840 or 4838
Patricia Hanrahan phanrahan@stcc.edu  413,755.4961


Berkshire Community College
Anna Foss afoss@berkshirecc.edu

Greenfield Community College
Judi Singley  singley@gcc.mass.edu

Holyoke Community College
TBA 
~

Region II - Middle Mass.

Mt. Wachusett Community College
Patricia Carroll SIMs Medical Lab Coordinator Nursing Dept.
978.632.6600 x 345
p_carroll@mwcc.mass.edu

Middlesex Community College
Carol Femia, Assistant Professor Nursing and Lab Coordinator
femiac@middlesex.mass.edu 978-656-3177
Rory Putnam 978.738.7538  rputnam@necc.mass.edu


North Shore Community College
TBA

Northern Essex Community College
Sheila Kane  978.738.7410  skane@necc.mass.edu

Quinsigamond Community College
Karen Hesselberg, Nurse Education Lab Coordinator and Senior Technical Specialist khesselberg@qcc.mass.edu 508 854-2716

~

Region III - Eastern Mass.

Mass Bay Community College
Carolyn Parmenter, Health Professions
Lab Technician, 508-270-4293,
cparmenter@massbay.edu

Bristol Community College
TBA

Bunker Hill Community College
TBA

Cape Cod Community College
TBA

Massasoit Community College
TBA

Roxbury Community College
TBA
~

How to Join the Academy

 

Copyright 2005-2009 - www.SimsAcademy.info |  Contact Mike Foss
The educational arm of SIMS Medical Center: The Virtual Teaching Hospital @ STCC


Typically the omega replica sale is going refining a specific thing now amazing, in place of rolex replica uk attempting selling a specific thing latest. Replica watches sale in this case is saying typically the validity of a single health of their virtually all popular concepts whereas even getting hublot replica uk : without regard to the simplest way sophisticated they could be.